JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Although I'm an Oregon resident, I've also had a Washington "Concealed Pistol License" for a long time. You may already know what I'm about to suggest, but I wasn't sure if you did based on the original post. If this is something you knew already, then my apologies.

Anyway ...

So, if my wife is driving the car and a cop pulls her over then will that not cause confusion as she will not have a ccp?
If you're wife is driving the car without you in the car, and the weapon is concealed in the car where the driver can access the weapon (e.g. an unlocked glove box or center console), then your wife is in possession of an illegally concealed firearm IF she doesn't have her own WA "Concealed Pistol License".

My suggestion is do not leave the firearm in the car, whether it's locked in a glove box/counsole, or not. Keep it on your person.

Cheers.

My GF has her permit so that if I have to leave my pistol in her car (to go into the Spokane Eye Clinic where guns are prohibited for example) or under the seat it can be left loaded. Of course no one is going to be able to use x-ray eyes to see the loaded pistola under the seat but it is a pretty good precaution if you ask me in case things go wrong while I am having my eyeballs checked. I am not in the habit of leaving it in a car and forgetting about it but some are. My understanding of Washington Law is that if it is loaded in the car, somebody needs the valid CPL. No muss no fuss, $60 bucks of good insurance.