JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Okay, so I am new to this and reading the states laws I am confused. As a non-resident, (But with Utah and Oregon permits) can I just carry a concealed handgun. It looks like there is a permit and constitutional carry. Being as I have never lived in a constitutional carry state, I would like some guidance. (And if I just have to open carry... I will) I am headed to North Idaho to check out areas to move to. Last thing I want to do is break the law.

Trust but verify; Idaho is a constitutional carry state and allows any adult over 21 that is not otherwise forbidden, to carry a concealed weapon (the age may be 18).

Idaho also recognizes all state permits and provides a state carry permit for the purpose of reciprocity (the last part is my assumption on the reasoning).

Again, trust but verify, but this is my understanding.

No permit required iirc residents over 18 non residents over 21, conceal it correctly and no one will know anyways right?

Actually it's just 18 and us citizen idk why I thought it was 18 for state only, I think the law to carry/own a handgun is 18 but fed is 21 so kind of a weird niche

Last Edited:
FYI North Idaho is full...
5 more incoming. Had a meeting with a realtor last night and I think he tried to scare us off a little and left with the opinion that we were a good fit. When he asked me if I ruled out any areas, and I told him Sandpoint he seemed surprised.

Last Edited:
Idaho is also open carry and has always been per the Idaho constitution, so you can carry open or concealed and they accept all state permits.

Idaho has currently 2 carry permits if you are interested. the enhanced allows you to carry in more states and on college compasses but you have to be 21 for this one and take a class and shoot 100 rounds and it allows you to carry in Washington.