JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So I find myself with many items such as fatigues, helmet cover,vests, armor and miscellaneous that are ACU pattern. It is my impression that ACU may well be the worst camo pattern ever... especially for the Northwest with all of our greenery etc. I understand it is supposed to be good for breaking up your image when viewed through night vision devices but I am doubtful that NVD camo will be of much use.

I am curious what other peoples experiences with it have been. Is it as bad as I am thinking for the northwest or not? Has anyone thought of altering it?

Thoughts........

I am no expert but out of what I have used and seen, Tiger Stripes were about the best cammo for the PNW. I had a set back when I pain balled and people always told me that if I step into the shadows, i was gone and they flat out could not see where I was.

I've always been a fan of the original US Army Camo pattern.
camo-wood.jpg

Nevertheless, recently I've become a believer of the MutiCam for the area I'm in.
multicam-BDU-shirt1.gif

As stated eloquently by titsonritz, ACU is absolute crap and is only good for breaking up your pattern when marching on a paved road.

My suggestion is to make your own camo. What I mean is you can always add to any pattern- or make your own ghillie suite. As long as there are no overly bright colors, you can break up just about anything with the right color of burlap draped over or sewn into your items. It takes patience and a bit of practice but it's worth it!