JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hi guys -

I just wanted to pass on to you all about an incident that happed to me and my 11 year old last night. We had a wonderful evening as a family, we were have a mommy and daddy date with our eleven year-old as the 16 year old is out on a church trip. We walked the mall went and had a nice dinner at Kowloon's and came home and was watching a movie.

My wife laying on the couch, I'm on the floor playing with the dog and my daughter was sitting and sucking on a push up pop, well unknown to me she had finished up and was having fun pushing the plastic bottom up and down with her breath when all of a sudden she sucked in and the plastic bottom lodged in her throat. She jumped up and let me know through the internationl chocking signal that she was chocking. I am a previous Red Cross instructor and have many hours in the classroom teaching. It happened real fast I remember getting up spinning her away from me putting my arms around her and on the third abdominal thrust the item popped out with a little vomit. The whole event happened in less than 10 seconds. At the time as I thought about it no big deal it was just as I had taught many times, pretty much text book. Of course it was emotional for both my wife and my daughter so there I sat consouling both of them.

So I just wanted to pass on to you all some Red Cross training is very useful, please take a class, I no longer work for them, so I have no dog in the fight other than hoping you all never have to go through this. I plan to keep up my certifications and want to make sure you all hear my story and hope you will go and get trained. You never know when you will need it.

As I sit and reflect on the situation now, I become more emotional knowing that I could of woken up this morning missing one of my family. Please get trained.