JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Just purchased my first shotgun, a Mossberg 500 with 20" barrel.

Purchased new. It arrived almost dripping with oil.
It will need to be cleaned and appropriately oiled.

I am new to shotguns and I am looking for suggestions on
cleaning and oiling. Both product and method suggestions
welcome.

Thanks

If you bought it new it should have a manual with it that includes safe handling, loading,operating, and cleaning. If it didn't you should down load it from their website. Good choice for your 1st shotgun!

I've got a Mossberg 500 myself - with both the 20" barrel and a replacement 28" barrel for trap, etc. When I got the gun, it was a bit oily, but definitely not dripping with it.

For me, cleaning is pretty simple. I use a solvent cleaner to remove the oil, wiping down the barrel inside and out, cleaning out the chamber. After cleaning, I always give it a once-over, inside and out, with some gun oil - a very thin film, you don't need any more than that. I do make sure to lube the moving parts of the action (slide rails, slide and bolt (not the bolt face). Bore snakes work great for cleaning the barrel - I own several of them. My opinion is that you shouldn't have to do a complete take-down for the initial cleaning - some folks might disagree with me on that. When the time comes that you want to do a complete take-down for a deeper cleaning, YouTube has some great videos on this.