JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Ok so I found a rifle at a gun shop while I was out of town with some freinds that aren't so pro-gun. Anyways I don't feel the need to press the issue with them, but it was a really great deal.

Now what are the shipping laws?

Can I buy the rifle, do the paperwork, then have the gunshop mail me the rifle so I don't have to bring it home in the car?

Or do I have to walk out of there with it?

I know a individual can ship a firearm to another individual within the same state, but how about a FFL?

I'm not a lawyer but I think they could mail it to you provided you've already filled out the 4473 and been approved (and paid for it of course). Folks can mail guns to a FFL for repairs or other things and get them shipped back to them. I am under the impression that a FFL recipient needs to be involved when the ownership changes hands. This is provided the FFL and you are in the same state.
Your best bet is to ask the gun shop if they'd do that and what they'd charge. It's their rears on the line so they'll be able to tell you for sure if that's possible and if they'd do it (and maybe you could talk them into shipping it for free if you are polite :)).

Unfortunately if you are buying from out of state, at a licensed dealer- you may find that he will only sell the rifle to you if it is then delivered by him to a licensed gun dealer in your state. Then when you get home, you would fill out the 4473 at your dealer's shop.

Ask him if he'll ship it. But if these people really are family friends then they'll understand that they should not hold as much power over you that it seems they do. Just buy the thing and walk out of the store with it.