JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
I have two 36 gun safes next to each other. I just keep them so full that there isn't any room for moisture. Just playin, I have the large goldenrod in each as well as two rechargeable dehumidifiers in each. I recently bought a Stack On cabinet to free up some space and it lives in the house, have a couple dollar store desiccants in it. Still need another safe but running out of room for safes with the fire cabinets for all the reloading components.

Instead of a full-length rifle sock, I use a pistol sock to cover and protect the butt portion of my rifle stocks. Also use a golden rod and a rechargeable dehumidifier.

I have a friend that claims gun socks can hold moisture and cause corrosion. I have no personal experience, just reporting what I was told.
'
I have no science to this. But I've been a little suspicious of the one gun sock that I own. Because of what happens with old, oil-soaked leather holsters. Which will allow rust to accrue on handguns that are stored in them. I suspect that gun socks can become imbued with gun oil over time. Which could allow moisture to settle between the sock and the gun. Or perhaps with a completely oil free sock, moisture absorbed into the fabric sitting up against blued gun metal could cause rust.