JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'll start by saying that when it comes to rifles, I'm still a bit new to certain aspects. Messing with optics and sighting in rifles is something I have very little experience. It is something I'm trying to learn through various means.

This week, I went to the range to adjust the sights on an M1 Garand. After doing some reading online, I read a few suggestions to take the rear sight back to null settings (no windage or elevation adjustments), then to start at 25 yards and see where you land, making adjustments as you go, then moving out to 100 yards once you get things dialed in at 25.

I went out earlier this week to give this a try for the first time. Unfortunately I didn't realize until after I got there that I had forgotten my spotting scope, so I was going to have to stick to 25 yards for the day.

I had previously shot the rifle off hand, but couldn't get a good feel for where the sights were set, so I just wanted to start from zero adjustments and go from there. My first shots were low and left, so I started dialing some elevation, a click at a time, as well as pulling in some windage adjustment. I was loading a single round at a time, fired from a rest. Ammo was a mix of older surplus and some newer manufacture PMC loaded for the M1. As I made the adjustments, I could see I was getting closer to the center mark. As I was running out of time, I moved to the outer bulleyes to put 2 rounds in each and make some additional adjustments.