JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Who is shooting all of their rigs out to 500 yards on the regular ? I am not talking about 22 lr but center fire ? I play a game with off the shelf ammo not even match and have all of my rifles hitting a 2in plate at 500 yards and under . I am asking is that the norm ? I was at the range and a guy had a "Precision Rifle " with hand loads and was having issues at the 500 yard mark . I have been shooting for about 50 years is it a either you have it or you don't or some other special formula ?

500 meters is a fairly easy shot. I used to think that was a super far distance until we qualified at 500 meters with 5.56 and iron sights.

Now with a scope it's a piece of cake.

A 2in diameter circle is another story. I've never tried. But I'm sure it's difficult.

Last Edited:
A 2 inch plate at 500 yards? My highest magnification scope is only 12X. Man, I'm not sure I could see a 2 inch plate at 500 yards. I suppose I could hit it, IF I had an unlimited supply of ammo, eventually. I don't own any "precision" rifles. I've got a few that are pretty darn accurate, but I haven't had an opportunity to shoot anywhere close to 500 yards in decades.

A 2 inch plate at 500 yards? My highest magnification scope is only 12X. Man, I'm not sure I could see a 2 inch plate at 500 yards. I suppose I could hit it, IF I had an unlimited supply of ammo, eventually. I don't own any "precision" rifles. I've got a few that are pretty darn accurate, but I haven't had an opportunity to shoot anywhere close to 500 yards in decades.
Hit me up on a PM we can get you out as a guest at the range my treat

Thanks for the offer, but if you're hitting 2" plates at 500 yards, I'd only embarrass myself. I'm not that good at Kentucky windage. :(