JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am just beginning in firearms, and I can see I am collecting quite a bit of cleaning supplies. Where is the best place for storing it? Do you take it with you to the shooting range? Hunting? Do you put everything in a small duffle bag and carry it with you everytime you go anywhere with your gun(s)? Did you ever have a time when you're gun needed cleaning and you left everything at home? Any problems with leakage?

Like any solvent, oil etc, they are stored according to mfg requirements. If transporting, I will carry in a plastic ammo can (no metal). In a fire the plastic container would melt, leading to less chances of an explosive release from anything inside a metal ammo can.

Mostly though I use a Q-tip and a bore snake with a micro-fiber cloth. I normally don't use harsh cleaners on my firearms.

I have my stuff in a 13" Craftsman tool bag.
Not that great of a plan.
Going to switch to something like this...
$9.87 Home Depot
red-black-theworks-portable-tool-boxes-tbt14-64_1000.jpg

Mostly though I use a Q-tip and a bore snake with a micro-fiber cloth. I normally don't use harsh cleaners on my firearms.
I use Break-Free CLP. I'm not aware of it being harsh. Someone told me to not use Hoppes, because it was petroleum based. I'm just wondering if most just leave the gun cleaning stuff at home or take it everywhere the gun goes?

I use Break-Free CLP. I'm not aware of it being harsh. Someone told me to not use Hoppes, because it was petroleum based. I'm just wondering if most just leave the gun cleaning stuff at home or take it everywhere the gun goes?