JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So I went out shooting with my grandfather, uncle, and several other relatives a while back. I don't see my family often, and this was a very special occasion for us. We went out to a gravel pit, and everyone pulled out what they had brought to shoot (bragging about this one and that), and then came the cooler filled with beer, of which some had already been drank. Guns were being passed to eachother without being cleared, people were setting up targets while others had loaded guns in their hand. It was really cringe worthy. I didn't want to say anything because I am already kind of a blacksheep in that I graduated from college and have a professional career, and I am very self-conscious about not acting like I am better than them.

I guess I had forgotten that component to my childhood memories of shooting with the family, alcohal was always involved then too. Is it just that they came up during another time? I remember not wearing seatbelts, and my parents driving with one hand with a beer in the other. It was accepted back then, they even waved to officers with the beer hand. Is this the same? I don't want to seem disrespectful, or holier than thou with my extended family. What do you think?

Learn from current awareness. I will not go shooting with anyone who shows any signs of any irresponsible nature. If safety is really #1 then act upon it.

It's just too bad. I really do enjoy being out with these guys, but I definately wouldn't take my kids out with them. So I guess that should be my clue that I probably shouldn't be there either.