JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am a new resident to Washington and have never had a class 3 before. Im interested in knowing your opinion on this and what it requires. In fact, Im not even sure if Wa residents can.:s0092:.....I should have stayed in oregon. :bash: So at this point im investigating the process. i know I would like to shoot suppressed and that this requires just a stamp a whole bunch of money and even more time for paperwork. That being said, Whats the process / availability to get a class 3?
Thanks!

Well there are 6 kinds of NFA items and half are legal in WA. Full auto, Short Barreled Rifle and Short Barreled Shotgun are illegal. Silencers, Any Other Weapon and Destructive Device are legal.

Well a "whole bunch of money" is all relative. It is $200 for the tax stamp. Cost of the silencer $200-2000. Transfer fee for the dealer if not bought though him $50-100. Of course sales tax.

What you get is a stamp saying you have paid your tax for each item, not a license.

Here is a write up I did a while back that has all the information you need in it, GunBroker.com Message Forums - Basic NFA FAQ (update 7-14-12)

Well now you are talking a whole bunch of money. All the above but you are at least $10,000 for an M-16 lower and then .300 BLK/Whisper/Fireball/.221/.223/ect is not cheap to shoot either.
More like $15,000 for that M-16 lower.

True. But 9mm isn't exactly cheap to shoot either. I guess fa cheap looks like a fa ak74 right?

AK47 isn't cheap either.

Where do you get it being "minus sales tax"? The silencer is a taxable item under WA law.
And you can't own SBR's, SBS's or full autos so it's only three out of six in WA.

I'll go out on a limb here, Nwcid was referring to OR, namely the process for acquiring NFA items is the same as WA, minus sales tax, and you can own all 6 types.