JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm a student of history, and I decided to look at the current spike in both the quantity and price of firearms/ammunition sales. I found this chart:

chart.jpg

I noticed two obvious facts:

1) The average price goes up over time.
2) The big peaks (outliers) from the trendline collapse and return to the trendline.

Since we are currently living through an obvious peak right now (looks identical to the Obama/Sandy Hook peak), it seems like a no brainer to sell my ammunition and buy back twice the quantity once the peak collapses. I'd keep a reasonable amount on hand, but I have more than I could shoot in two lifetimes if I went shooting every single day. Why not double it?

Thoughts?

Like you mentioned, why not?

If you've got a TON of it, why not make some money on it and replenish at a later date?

I'm a gambling man, but with so many new shooters and pending legislation, the opportunity to rebuy at a lower price may never come. That is the risk. I've considered selling some of my reserves, but the ability to replinish is the question. Besides, the ammo I've purchased is already an internalized cost.

But, there is a chance to make some good money.

Good luck with your choice. I'm rooting for you to win because that means we all win due to cheaper and plentiful ammo returning.

I've been working on doing just that, only not really with an eye towards replenishing. I have multiple tins of CMP M1 Garand ammo that I've had for well over a decade. I only ever shoot my reloads, and sealed tins are going for insanely high prices on Gunbroker, so now is the time to let them go. I think I'm going to go ahead and get rid of about all the factory ammo I've accumulated (except 22lr), since it's so high.