JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Been thinking about this for a while. The closest thing I have to a spear is my walking sticks and a number of Cold Steel Bushman knives.

I have no experience with a spear - my throwing arm/shoulder (I am right handed) has been out of whack since I was 15-16 and did an endo off my bicycle and landed on it. In short, throwing anything with any energy required is painful, especially any distance. I am to the point now where I have chronic pain in my right arm and shoulder, sometimes throbbing.

Given that - why a spear?

Fishing? Hunting without throwing far (small game)/gigging? Self-defense (better than a knife)?

So, experience with spears? Feedback on types?

I am thinking a shaft at least 5' long. Been looking at CS spears. Been thinking maybe at least 2-3 spears of different types - for large game/self-defense, small game, aquatic game.

DSC06421.jpg

DSC06422.jpg

I have a few spears.
My favorite is shown above.
The spear head is the "European Spear Head" from Windlass Cutlery
And the butt cap is also from them as well.
The spear shaft is ash....stained with nitric acid...and oil finished.

The spear head is carbon steel.
The head is 16 inches long with a 9 inch cutting edge.
It is about 2 1/2 inches at its widest point .
The overall length of this spear is about 76 inches.

I've played around with a lot of different spears....the offerings from CS are nice , if not historically correct , regardless of sale ad copy.
With that said...they are extremely functional for what they are.

My spear here is both historically correct*and functional.
( while one can , and I have thrown mine...it is more of a thrusting / CQB weapon )
Andy
* At least in size , shape , and attachment method....Iron , not steel would be better for historic purposes.

Last Edited: