JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
I researched this some time ago by reading the relevant OR statutes and I'm pretty sure the legal responsibility for ensuring that a bgc is performed is on the seller. (I'm not a lawyer, etc etc).
the seller is the owner (until the BGC is approved. )

If you really want to make sure you don't have any problems down the road with proof of ownership, the gun probably needs to go through probate unless your friend had a trust, in which case the trustee could sell or transfer the gun to you.
Since when do you have to prove ownership of a firearm?

I researched this some time ago by reading the relevant OR statutes and I'm pretty sure the legal responsibility for ensuring that a bgc is performed is on the seller. (I'm not a lawyer, etc etc).
Correct. That's what I meant by "owner".... not the purchaser.

Since when do you have to prove ownership of a firearm?
Possession of a stolen firearm is a Class C felony in Oregon, dipsh_t. Even unlawful transfer of a firearm is a Class A misdemeanor.

If law enforcement suspects that you have unlawful possession of a firearm that was not properly transferred, you might have exposure to criminal charges.

For a transfer expense of between $10 and $40 and a simple two-line bill of sale signed by the estate's personal representative, it doesn't make a lot of sense to not transfer the firearm properly and lawfully.

Last Edited:
Possession of a stolen firearm is a Class C felony in Oregon, dipsh_t. Even unlawful transfer of a firearm is a Class A misdemeanor.

If law enforcement suspects that you have unlawful possession of a firearm that was not properly transferred, you might have exposure to criminal charges.

For an expense of between $10 and $40, it doesn't make a lot of sense to not transfer the firearm properly and lawfully.