JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Okay NWFA reloaders, I've been doing my research here, on the YouTube and the Google and I'm not getting a definitive answer. So, knowing how smart you folks are, I'm going to toss out a question I'm sure you've answered before and are dying to answer again.

I am new to reloading. Last weekend my daughter and I decapped about 500 cases of 9mm and .45 in preparation for loading. While I've got the Lee Classic Turret press, I'm starting my first hand loads using the Lee Precision Hand Press so I can get a good feel for each step along the way. I've got the one missing part for the press, the Ram Prime on the way, it will be here this weekend, so I'll be ready to start priming some cases.

Now, here is the question. My brass is a mix of various range brass. Kind of dirty, a few a bit bent out of shape. Reading on various sites, watching videos, there seems to be a wide array of opinions on cleaning brass before loading. Some say it's not that big of a deal for pistol cases, others say they need to be tumbled, some say they should be wet washed with a variety of additives like citric acid or Simple Green, then dried in the oven. Some say deprime then tumble, others say tumble then deprime.

So, you'll forgive my confusion in this process. At the moment, I have neither a tumbler nor any media, so tumbling, at the moment is not really an option. But I could do a wet wash to at least get the loose crap out of the cases. If I do this, is it enough? Is cleaning the brass really critical for 9mm range loads? Or is it just a wasted extra step? I'm not going for match grade loads here, and none will go through a chrono since I don't have one of those either at this point.

Thoughts?