JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Part of me wants to make an AR45 or ar9. 7.62x39 might be fun as well. However, if it is best to start with 5.56 then I can do that as well.

I know I want a flat top rifle. I know putting on a gas piston system is a good idea, but I m not sure I care. I don't want an AR pistol.

I am new to the whole build your own rifle setup. I am fairly good with hand tools, but this is a domain I have never walked in before.

What would you more experienced guys tell a n00b to the AR scene?

I'll tell ya the same thing a coworker told me last year when I mentioned I was thinking about it...

Just do it.

and so I did. One week I bought a lower. A week or so later I bought an upper. Lil while later the lower parts. Then a barrel. And on and on. I amassed the parts over a couple months time, and then spent an hour putting it together with tools I already had plus @Oregon Quartermaster assistance with the barrel nut.

+1 on the just do it!!

built my first one last year between reading threads on NWFA and watching youtube video's its pretty easy. Now I am addicted and want to start milling 80% lowers

Careful its addicting and you can go broke quick :D

Respectfully ... another point of view based on useless experience. Buy what you want. In the long run you MAY be a more happy camper. It is what you do not know what you do not know about the ins and outs of building AR15 rifles properly.

For a home build some tools and gadgets are needed. Some of todays stuff is not needed. Some of the stuff needed you may not get. Also consider the skills and experience needed to do your own PROPERLY. This is expensive to lay on.