JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm new at shooting, if your training I was told to stand at almost a 90 degree stance. You see alot of shooters that stand with their feet side by side, which also makes you a bigger target! But I've also been told at a 90 degree stance if your wearing armor it leaves an open spot by your armpit for a heart shot, where as a forward stance your heart is more protected by the armor,I'm wanting to get some opinions on the best way to stand while training? Thanks

There are several methods and all have their place and name. Also are you shooting rifle or pistol? Google search "shooting stance".

What works for me and I show people is this. Stand naturally with your feet slightly spread. You will notice that your feet kinda "V". Turn your body so your left foot (assuming you are right handed) is pointing toward the target. Then step slightly back with your right foot so you have nice comfortable stance.

The pic has a bit of illusion to the angle but you get the idea,
DSC04954.jpg

I stand feet appx shoulder width apart with my weak foot forward. I personally lean forward a bit and really drive the gun forward with the sights aligned with my dominant eye. I was taught to practice my stance sans gun and both fists together. Standing as such if someone pushes towards me on my fists simulating recoil, I don't move pretty much at all. I pretty much don't move when my pistol recoils because of this type of stance. As far as arms- that depends on the style you are using (isoceles, Chapman, Weaver). I definitely stand square to the target so I can easily move laterally if need be, and be stable enough to reduce the risk of stumbling while still maintaining a sight picture on the target. That's just me tho

My suggestions: