JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
I've been hearing this for 40 years.

Mel Tappan and others predicted imminent and inevitable doom back in the 70s.

Didn't happen.

Come back in two years and tell me I am wrong.

I have an ongoing "Threads of Doom" thread on SurvivalistBoards.com where I collect these kinds of threads. Most of them are over 3 years old. Most of them predict "doom in the next six months", which has long since passed.:rolleyes:

I heard it back in the 60s:p and it still hasn't happened. Wonder how much money has been spent on this fear?

I doubt anyone in their right mind would attempt to confiscate all the guns in America... So I guess we should be worried.

I heard it back in the 60s:p and it still hasn't happened. Wonder how much money has been spent on this fear?
Enough to almost bankrupt me.

Back in the late 90s, I was in over my head in credit card debt. I was using one card to pay off the other. A lot of that was buying guns and ammo as fast as I could.

Then I got laid off and I couldn't make the payments.

A quick loan from my brother, some sweating it out, then finally finding another job, convinced me that paying off all my debt was more important than having guns and ammo - unemployment being much more likely (and at least a precursor to) than a total economic collapse. It took ten years (during that time I was unemployed again for a total of over 3 years, once for two years straight), but I finally paid off all of my debt and saved up enough to help my kids make a down payment on a house, then for me to make a down payment on my current property.

I may have a mortgage now (a house on 20 forested acres on a mountain), but my total net worth is positive and my equity in my property is almost as much as what I owe on it - at least in theory.