JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Quick question: I'm an Oregon resident but have been traveling and not up on current Oregon law regarding private party to private party sales. Do I have to go through an FFL to purchase a shotgun from another Oregon resident? Or is face to face legal for the transfer of the shotgun?

Thanks,
Charles

Gonna have to take it to an FFL and do a BGC before sale can go thru.

Look up SB 941. Sales from stores and private sales require a BGC to be completed and passed before the fire arm can be exchanged or purchased legally.

Last Edited:
Thanks, I wasn't sure if the changes applied only to handguns or both long guns and handguns. Guess that the state is no longer Oregun as I remember it.

They have to for the ATF. They keep a record in case they decide to conduct an audit of their books. Lasts 20 years. Good folks at sportsmans explained the process to me. According to them the ATF isnt as bad as some of their other auditors that come thru.

Im not wild about it either myself. OSP supposedly keeps a record for a short time based off their policy but hard to tell how well a policy is followed or enforced with such a minimalist staff thats under budgeted.

Best to play by the rules to avoid major head aches and fines or breakin rocks in the hot sun.

Per SB941 the following exceptions apply:

(A) A transferor's spouse or domestic partner;
(B) A transferor's parent or stepparent;
(C) A transferor's child or stepchild;
(D) A transferor's sibling;
(E) A transferor's grandparent;
(F) A transferor's grandchild;
(G) A transferor's aunt or uncle;
(H) A transferor's first cousin;
(I) A transferor's niece or nephew; or
(J) The spouse or domestic partner of a person specified in subparagraphs (B) to (I) of this paragraph.

All other must go through an FFL