JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
My next gun purchase is going to be a rifle. Most likely a .22lr and probably a Ruger 10/22. Haven't decided between bolt action or semi auto yet. I'm leaning towards bolt action because I heard it really makes the shooter become better. I don't want to spend a lot of money since I have very little experience shooting any kind of rifle. I have a pistol and a shotgun I'm competent with. Any advice is much appreciated! Thanks :)

I just sold my Hi-Point 9mm carbine and that goofy looking thing was more fun and super accurate then a lot of my other high dollar rifles.
A lot of folks put them down, but for just plain fun you can't beat them.
9mm is fairly cheap and they have a lifetime free parts replacement warranty no matter who purchased it.

I like a bolt action for a new shooter. To often semi's are too fun just to run fast. For a bolt action look at the Savage Mark II series or the Marlin XT. Both are similar priced to the 10/22.

I agree with DS I have the Mark II and it is a sweet little rifle. Plus you will get a can someday :D it is going to happen everyone gets bit by the bug.....plus with a bolt since you do not have any .22 you should be ok as it does take a while to go through it ;)

This little guy can be picked up for around 260.00 or cheaper at Sportsmans http://www.impactguns.com/savage-ma...barrel-silencer-ready-28702-062654287022.aspx

I concede 10/22's are infinitely configurable, stocks, barrels, etc.

I suggest bumming around as much as you can and shoot everything you can lay a cheek on. and then make a decision.

I would be so brazen as to post an ad for a Puget Sound .22 range day, meet some shooters, provide some ammo and ask to shoot their rifles.