JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Will be 84 next month and have significant arthritis in both wrists. Long time firearms enthusiast and live on 14 acres and shoot regularly on my property.
At present have a SIG1911 C3, 45acp for my nightstand gun and practice with it on a regular basis.
I'm at the point that it is just too uncomfortable to practice with this much recoil.
I'd like to get a different pistol that would have less recoil (so I can continue to shoot approx 100 rounds every couple of weeks)...and not have so much discomfort in my wrists.
I' m thinking along the lines of the following.
1/...A pistol that I can also use as an "every day carry" weapon, if I so choose to carry if I feel the need for possible protection under certain circumstances.
2/... Suitable for being my "night stand gun".
3/... I've been handloading for 60 years, so I can tailor loads for reduced recoil.....
...possible specs on what I think I want:.....
A/...... Barrel length: approx 3.25 to 4.25 inches.
B/.....Caliber: 9mm.
C/.....A " rail" so as to mount a light or laser for use when it is on my night stand for possible SD in the dark.
D/.....Single Stack magazine(s).
E/.....External Safety lever (like on 1911)...If and when I would carry, I carry in "Condition One".
(I have had the 1911 type safety on every pistol I have ever had since the 1950s....starting with an issue 1911A1 Remington Rand.)

I am totally open to all opinions, comments and suggestions........Thank you.

Looks like spookshack and I are thinking along the same lines.
Some sort of 1911 pistol in .9mm.

I'm sorry that I can not recommend any particular models .
My experience with .9mm pistols were with models that do not fit your list.
I do not like to recommend anything I can't comment on from personal experience.
Looking forward to seeing your choice.
Andy