JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am shopping for my first bow, I want something to hunt with eventually. I can shoot bow in my backyard now, 1.5 acres. I am looking at a Martin Pantera or Cheetah mag. The only other bow I have really considered is a PSE Bowmadness xs. Does anybody have any suggestions? I want to stick with a small budget incase it becomes a wall hanger... If I really like it I can always upgrade later.

I am new to Archery as well. from my research I find that Elite bows have the best warrenty available and they are excellent bows. there are many out there, good luck.

Dunno about the modern stuff, but I bought a second-hand Martin traditional bow back in 1980 to use for my first bare-bow field archery competition. I liked the general feel and shape in the hand. It looks a bit like the new X-150 and is a 40# 28". Apart from looking after it and making a few strings [NOT Fastflite] it looks much the same as it did the day I bought it - still draws up nicely and works well.

The best $10 I ever paid for a bow.

tac

I killed my deer last year with a Kodiak Outdoors (something like that).It was a 4YO left over at wholesale.It was very accurate,too.So price doesn't always mean perfect bow. And I'm like you,buy cheap till you really get into it then you aren't hurt over spending a bunch

But watch craigslist for some deals.

Go to a reputable archery shop and get fitted first. Draw length is important. Shoot several different bows. Most archery shops have a large supply of used bows at near givaway prices. Get your bow paper tuned, draw weight set, and Chronoed. There are a number of good bows out there and there is junk. I shoot Mathews, but Bowtech is made in Oregon and makes some fine bows and would be my second choice.