JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So I have been reloading with plated projectiles for a few years and am thinking about moving to cast. I will mainly be loading for my .40S&W but possibly setting up for .45ACP. My question is - any gotcha's moving to cast?

Thanks!

When I have used plated bullets in the past, I have always used the exact same load data as for cast. I mainly load 200 gr. SWC's in the .45 with Titegroup as my most common pistol powder(I use it for .40 as well). I personally see no reason to use plated any more. I save thousands of dollars a year casting my own. Cast bullets really shine in revolvers. I have only used gas checks for hot .357 mag loads and only very hot loads. They are in my opinion a waste of time and money. Enjoy loading cast bullets. I hope you cast your own. It is very rewarding.

If you're not going to slug your bore/throats, buy small quantities first to see if they lead or not and give good accuracy. Convention is to try, for example, .358's for a .38/357.
Many manufacturers offer a sample packet/selection for not much money.

Generally no check needed for pistol velocities below 1300-1400 FPS if using hard cast that fit your barrel correctly. For anything more, it is a good idea to check them.
I shoot 30-30 RNFP 150gr about 2100-2200 FPS. These are lubed and gas checked.

I don't shoot cast bullets in my .357 or .41 Mag anymore because I got tired scrubbing that much lead out of my bore. I would use commercially cast "hard" lead bullets. If I tried to run them at any where near magnum velocities they would load up the rifling. If you are able to cast your own, and make them harder than what's available, you may have better results.
I do use them in some of my .45 ACP loads, but those aren't at top velocity. Gas checked would be worth trying, in my opinion.