JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am debating getting a CC permit, but I have some questions and would like some input.

First off, I do not plan to carry daily. I climb trees for a living, and it's not reasonable to lug a handgun around while you're trimming. Second, it's a fireable offense, and a total violation of company policy. I don't want to carry on my commute and then leave a handgun in my vehicle all the time, because I park every day at remote areas where a break in is likely. I don't leave anything of value in my car and I leave it unlocked.

Generally speaking, I feel no real need or desire to carry a firearm in public. I am comfortable going to the zoo, a movie, Fred Meyers, etc unarmed.

Another factor against daily carry is that none of my pistols are of a CC design, and I don't intend to purchase a handgun specifically to carry.

Now, that being said, there are some times I would like to carry a firearm.

I sometimes want to keep a firearm in the car or cab of the truck when I drive in remote or sketchy areas. Twice in the coast range I had tense encounters. Ultimately, the situations resolved themselves peacefully, but I sure wished I had a gun both times. Both times I debated on just taking the pistol with me, but I knew it was illegal, so I left it home.
Once while on a family road trip, we were essentially "attacked" by another vehicle, totally out of the blue. No cell service, I felt helpless. Fortunately, that situation resolved itself, but once again, I wished I had a pistol handy, just in case.