JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
A friend asked me for some advice today and, for one rare moment, I wasn't sure how to answer. Here's the scenario:

Assume this all takes place in Oregon...

An older fellow dies, leaving a few dozen weapons to his widow. Revolvers and lever guns (nothing NFA). Now a couple of the (adult) kids are squabbling over who gets what. Seems to me they're all the widow's guns to keep, sell or give to anyone she sees fit. Yes?

Given how the collection was assembled over the years, I'm guessing that most were private transactions. But even if some/all were acquired through dealers with background checks, they're still her property to dispose of any way she likes. Is she required to report anything to anyone? I don't think so, but I'm not a lawyer either.

My friend will call some FFL guys tomorrow and some other people who should steer him right. I advised him not to mistake my opinion for legal advice. I suspect, though, that as long as no state lines are crossed, it's all adults, and no felons are involved, this is no different than her selling or gifting a bicycle.

Yes? No? Perhaps?

There is NO registration either Federally or in OR.

The firearms are the legal property of the widow unless there was a Will stating otherwise. She can do with them as she chooses. It does not matter where the firearms were acquired assuming they are all legal (as you state).

As for disposing of them she can do with them as she chooses as long as she follows the law, https://www.atf.gov/content/firearms-frequently-asked-questions-unlicensed-persons

<Why there aren't any school shootings in Israel!

There is NO registration either Federally or in OR.