JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I was researching the weapons policy for the University of Washington and came across this:

WAC 478-120-020(3)(f)
3) (f) Possession or use of firearms, explosives, dangerous chemicals or other dangerous weapons or instrumentalities on the university campus, except for authorized university purposes, unless prior written approval has been obtained from the university chief of police, or any other person designated by the president of the university (see WAC 478-124-020(2)(e)) (legal defense sprays are not covered by this section);

A little background on me now. I am a student at the UW and a legal CPL holder. I take the bus everyday from Marysville to UW (approximately 1 - 1 1/2 hours depending on direction) and I cannot carry on the bus (sucky situation if you know anything about Seattle area busses) because I can't carry on campus.

I am also an active duty Marine (Sgt) of a little under 6 years attached to the NROTC unit on campus. I also am the armory custodian for the unit, in which I have 139 weapons I am responsible for (located in the football stadium).

So I just emailed the UW Police to see if I could get one of those nifty "written approval thingys."

What do you think my chances are? You'd think they might want someone else on their side as a possible first responder in an active shooter situation, right?

I would like to suggest going into the UW Police Office and introducing yourself to the Chief. It is pretty easy to say "no" in an email... YMMV I wish you success.

- Netsecsys
Semper Fi

I would like to suggest going into the UW Police Office and introducing yourself to the Chief. It is pretty easy to say "no" in an email... YMMV I wish you success.

- Netsecsys
Semper Fi