JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I apologize for the length of my rant but there are a number of issues woven in. I suspect I am not alone in this issue.
This is the second time I have shelled out good money to sellers on this forum for firearms with serious hidden flaws. I have bought other firearms on NWFA that had undisclosed flaws that I was able to identify and repair myself. In all of these cases I would have tried to negotiate a different price. Also, I have had some excellent experiences with other members on other transactions.
I recently purchased a very nice looking SA 9mm 1911 for a fair price. The seller presented the pistol as unfired and NIB. During the transaction I noted the barrel and feed ramp were visibly fouled. Seller contended that he had bought it new and never fired it. At home I disassembled and cleaned it and discovered what I thought was a flaw in the rifling. It looked like the machinery had hiccupped and left a ring of metal unrifled. Springfield furnished a shipping label and off it went. Turns out, that ring of metal was the remains of a bullet that had been too large for the pistol and the barrel was bulged and had to be replaced. The SA tech expressed some skepticism about my stating I had not fired it. Since the heavy stainless match barrels and slides of the Springfield RO 9mm are hand fitted, the slide may have to be replaced as well. The repairs are going to be half what I paid for the pistol.