JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm pipe dreaming of getting some rough land in Eastern Oregon. For buildings I was thinking of Shipping contaiers half buried in the ground with the excavated dirt put on top of the container and replanted. Then it dawned on me that such structures probably could be found as old ammo bunkers. How does one go about finding such bunkers? I know about Umatilla and the back scatter radar site out Chritmas Valley way but there has to other bunkers out there somewhere.

I am not an expert, but my impression is that those were Quonset huts that were covered with dirt. They are essentially a bottomless corrugated culvert made with bolt-together plates. Nowadays you will need a real foundation, which could be anything from a reinforced slab with thickened edges up to real footings like a stick-built house. The internet has many sellers of quonset hut kits.

I'm pipe dreaming of getting some rough land in Eastern Oregon. For buildings I was thinking of Shipping contaiers half buried in the ground with the excavated dirt put on top of the container and replanted. Then it dawned on me that such structures probably could be found as old ammo bunkers. How does one go about finding such bunkers? I know about Umatilla and the back scatter radar site out Chritmas Valley way but there has to other bunkers out there somewhere.
As I recall, Umatilla was the nation's storage facility for chemical weapons and they had to build an incinerator to destroy them. I would not want anything to do with containers from that area.

As I recall, Umatilla was the nation's storage facility for chemical weapons and they had to build an incinerator to destroy them. I would not want anything to do with containers from that area.