JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
I'd sure like to see someone try barley. Yep, the same stuff that gets malted and go's into everybody's beer, scotch or malted milk shakes. I work in the industry and that stuff will polish mild steel like its chrome- stuff wears through steel and abrasion resistant (AR)hardend plate. If you live near Vancouver, I'll get you some to try if you want.

I've used corn cob media the most. But to really get it to work you need a good tumbler. I recently upgraded from a HF special to a Lyman turbo. Toss in a little flitz or similar and then youll really see the brass shine.

I use a heavy duty tumbler, a little bit of lemi-shine and dish soap with stainless media. I run it for about 4 hours and do a quick rinse and my brass is sparkly clean. It's not quick but I personally feel it gets my brass cleaner then any other method.

One more time. Brass is a mixture, not an alloy of copper and zinc. Zinc is very soft. Acids can leach the zinc from the copper, weakening the brass. Please don't use acidic cleaners of any type.

Most modern auto polishes contain silicon and I don't want that in my cases. It doesn't wash off with soap and water either.

Just for me, if I'm adding a polish to my media it's bought at an auto paint supply store and it's water based only. It still has the fine abrasive in it - probably pumice.

Body shops can't risk having silicon on anything they are going to paint. In fact when painting anything on a used car, they have to use a product like Poly-Cracker to first remove all "wax" which probably has silicon in it or the paint job will blow up into fish eyes.

I want clean and shiny brass that isn't damaged or coated with silicon.

$.02