Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

what gun to buy

Discussion in 'General Firearm Discussion' started by trainwreck, Nov 3, 2009.

1. trainwreck

trainwreck salem Member

hi.
    i am new to web site and dont know alot about guns, i would like to buy a hand gun to cary with me duing my travels around the north west. Most of the time i would be in a car or truck sometimes i would cary it on me. I am open to any brand or caliber.

Thanks
    Trainwreck

2. cyclesarge

cyclesarge Eugene OR, DUH! We're ALL in the NORTHWEST Well-Known Member

There's a HUGE number of guns that would fit your criteria. Do you have (or plan on getting) a CHL? Is price a factor? Do you plan on shooting a lot or do you mostly plan on using the gun for self defense only?

3. ohsocountry1

ohsocountry1 clackamas oregon Member

i am also new to guns and got my chl and i have a glock 27 its a 40 cal and i like it alot real small but still thick (no jokes needed) so decently easy to shoot especially with finger extension if you ever get towards clackamas you can come shoot with me sometime if your interested

4. trainwreck

trainwreck salem Member

i will be getting my chl. and i would like to get into shooting but mostly would be for self defense. and price is not a big deal

5. Gendaito

Gendaito PDX Member

How about a revolver? Or do you prefer a semi-auto?

6. trainwreck

trainwreck salem Member

revolver or semi auto dosent matter to me

7. Gendaito

Gendaito PDX Member

Okay, then Glock 19. Good size (not too small, not too large), 9mm is cheap for practice/training, 15rd magazines provide plenty of opportunities to hit your target, and they are easy to find new or used.

8. 56kninja

56kninja Portland Member

Just go with a glock, or similar gun. I own a rifle, but I'm looking at an FNP-Series handgun as my first.

Glocks are simple, easy to operate and can be abused without too much worry.