JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Long story short, we needed a new roof so I hired someone I used to work with because I knew he needed the job.
He seemed to be in a huge rush at the end and this part just looks weird to me. Is this a normal way to split the direction of the shingles at the end of a ridge?
There also appears to be a lump in the roof at the same spot but it's hard to see in the pics

1000010426.jpg 1000010423.jpg

Were fasteners not used? That top piece doesn't look held down....

I'm no professional, only built 2 full roofs and partially shingled another but even I know that's not right

Long story short, we needed a new roof so I hired someone I used to work with because I knew he needed the job.
He seemed to be in a huge rush at the end and this part just looks weird to me. Is this a normal way to split the direction of the shingles at the end of a ridge?
There also appears to be a lump in the roof at the same spot but it's hard to see in the pics

View attachment 1861051 View attachment 1861052
Looks like some debris possibly got layed over. Pictures aren't the greatest. Is that vented cap?

It's a ridge vent. It's not the kind I looked at in brochures but he said we needed this style because of how many pine needles we get. The other kind that I see everywhere I guess would have gotten clogged

Also, were those "seconds" shingles? Ends of a lot look curled up. But again, could just be the picture.

They better be new. They all came in packages...
"Seconds" doesn't mean they aren't new, just that they aren't "first" quality as in home depot wouldn't sell em but the discount store would. I've never seen "second" quality singles but I'm sure they exist.