JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I've decided to start hunting again after more years than I care to remember (stopped in 1972). I've continued to shoot at paper, just not hunting. I do shoot every week, putting 48 rounds through each of my hand guns (except the .22, that gets extra ammo for fun), and at least 20 rounds through the 30-06s (Remington 700 and Garand) and the .223. The .22LR also gets extra ammo just for fun.

For starters, I'm a disabled Veteran that doesn't walk as well as I used to. As a result I'm over weight and out of shape (okay, round is a shape). Even though I won't be hunting until 2013 season, I'm not sure how much my physical limitations will allow me to increase my walking/packing ability.

I am still a pretty fair shot out to 600 yards with my 30-06.

What I'm looking for is suggested areas, bullet weights, and probably most important is if you think a guided hunt would be best considering my limitations or hunting with a buddy.

Any food for thought will help me set goals for myself to prepare for the first of what I hope will be many hunts.

Thanks in advance.

REE

Apply for the (no insult meant) disabled hunter permits for the mud flows or toutle (556) unit near mt st helens, the elk are thick as ticks on a hound, as for bullet weights my personal preferance out of my 3006 is a 165 nosler accubond with 58grs of IMR 4350 pushing 3000fps

Yes... a guided hunt would be highly recommended for anyone who isn't fit yet still wants to hunt.

Killing an elk is easy. The hard part is after you pull the trigger. With your limitations and by yourself, what are you going to do with a 300-600lb elk on the ground 2 miles (or more) from the nearest road? <- give this some serious thought as most people under estimate what this takes.