JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Status
Reactions
I'm new to the CC world and looking for some advice. Currently, I own a DW Guardian (1911, 4.25" barrel w/ 8" overall length and 5.5" height) and am trying out a Silent Thunder IWB holster from Garrett.

No matter what I do to position this thing, I can't help but super obviously print...like I've got a third arm or something poking out. The best I've been able to do is use an extreme cant angle without the holster, which has proven that 5oClock works out okay.

The holster seems very nice - but it's not letting the gun sit low enough to force itself into my back or side and so it prints pretty badly. But, being new to this game, I'm not sure if my problem is necessarily the holster?

In all honesty, I'm planning to put ~200 rounds through the Guardian every week, possibly more, and will likely get a different (and smaller) gun to CC. But, in the meantime, if I wanted to make the Guardian work...Are my expectations on concealment just impossible?

Anyone here CC'ing a pistol like this or bigger and also happen to be athletically lazy in build (you know, the body type where you were in great shape 5 years ago but have since had a kid so it's starting to chubby up ;))...should I be looking at different holster styles or...?

Thanks for any advice,

I usually use GALECO holsters and wear a shirt size one larger. I use a simple Dickies belt and carry 5 - 6 o'clock. Though not a full size rider I stick to mostly anything G19 size or smaller (like a M&P Shield). A button up helps in the cooler days. Most I do is find the right fit angle and then tighten the belt and drape the button up over it. Avoiding tight clothing or short shirts obviously.