JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I must have lost my mind because I am going back and forth on whether or not to buy the new Charter Arms Pit Bull .40S&W revolver. It is their new revolver for the rimless .40S&W round that does not use moon clips.

I have always considered Charter Arms to be a low end maker for revolvers (even though I have little experience with them) and never considered buying one. Now I find myself weirdly drawn to this odd little revolver.

What does everyone else think? Have you seen this one? Do you have experience with Charter Arms? is it worth it? I can get it for under $400.

<broken link removed>

Pics courtesy of Gunblast.com

DSC02068.JPG

DSC02076.JPG

DSC02074.JPG

Why on earth would you use a 40 S&W revolver? The .38 special has VASTLY superior ballistics, as does the .357 mag.

The .40 is a compromise round caused by sissies at the FBI who couldn't be assed to learn to shoot the 10mm round, which is pretty much the best defensive caliber out there. It's worth it for a semi. But on a revolver where you're already limited on ammo, why choose a compromise round?

Why on earth would you use a 40 S&W revolver? The .38 special has VASTLY superior ballistics, as does the .357 mag.

The .40 is a compromise round caused by sissies at the FBI who couldn't be assed to learn to shoot the 10mm round, which is pretty much the best defensive caliber out there. It's worth it for a semi. But on a revolver where you're already limited on ammo, why choose a compromise round?
The .38spl has "VASTLY" superior ballistics? What numbers are you using for that comparison? In my experience the .40S&W outperforms the .38spl by quite a bit and nearly equals the .357mag for similar weight bullets. I consider the .40S&W an "in-between" option when comparing it to the .38spl and .357mag calibers.