JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
1640130726707.png

Well, tell you what....I approve.

Aloha, Mark

My best friend in high school got a Kaypro IV when he graduated from high school. Used it for a few years in college as well. It had WordStar and Perfect Suite of software. He had to buy a printer that took a while to print one page since was a daisy wheel printer.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kaypro
My first job out of college was for a Kaypro dealer. That was just about the time they were switching from CPM to DOS. I didn't understand either one.

My first job out of college was for a Kaypro dealer. That was just about the time they were switching from CPM to DOS. I didn't understand either one.
I majored in Computer Science, so I learning 6502 assembly language for the Apple II, and then under CP/M there was an 8080 assembler included with the CP/M software, I bought a Z80 assembly language processor as well. I was running a Franklin Ace 1000 computer which was a clone of the Apple II. I bought a CP/M card which had a Z80B processor with 64K of memory on that card and the Z80B ran at 4 mhz. The Franklin Ace 1000 had all of the memory on the main board I had a few memory chips failed but they were easy to replace. There was memory checking program had the X,Y location of the faulting memory chip. It also had a fan in the power supply as well to keep the board relatively cool. I bought few extra memory chips in case any went bad in the future. It was easy since the memory since all of memory chips were socketed.

I first learned AppleSoft Basic, then Pascal in college, then after college, a bit of 8086/88 assembly (enough to write an ISR), then C/C++, then Java - for the last 20+ years been writing Java apps.