JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I found Belom 7.62x39 to shoot quite well in a 16" AR with 7.62x39 barrel. The barrel is from Hitman Industries, has carbine gas and 1:10 twist. The Belom rounds have a reloadable brass case. Having some 225gr Gallant powder coated bullets in .310" diameter, there was an opportunity to try hand loading some 7.62x39 rounds. I was not able to find any load data in this caliber for bullets this heavy, so looked at 300 BLK loads as a baseline and worked up. Please note - I am no expert at hand loading and cannot recommend that anyone try what I did. It made sense to me but I don't know that it is safe. I welcome all comments.

I settled on a starting load of 10.4gr Accurate 1680, with CCI #34 primer. It was necessary to expand ( Lyman M-expander ) the case necks to avoid shaving off the coating. I seated the bullets at 2.23", which is longer than the 2.20" allowed for 7.62x39, but still gave about .030" to the lands in my barrel. I loaded two rounds, and two rounds each in successive increments up to 13.9gr. There were occasional FTF on the first round where the first round did not get stripped from the magazine ( Duramag steel 7.62x39 ). However, for the load at 11.9gr and all above that, the rifle cycled and locked the magazine open after the second of two rounds.

Chrono results:
10.4gr - 905fps
10.9gr - 927
11.4gr - 1003
11.9gr - 1067
12.4gr - 1100
12.9gr - 1122
13.4gr - 1162
13.9gr - 1226