JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Quick overview: I have a couple of GMRS radios and I have my GMRS license from the FCC. I'm very new to this type of communication and still needing to learn the basics of GMRS. Like for many on here, it's mostly to be ready for SHTF stuff. I've also used them with a buddy when traveling/convoying in non-cell coverage areas on the way to our destination or when out in my Jeep on a trail. I will be learning more here as I have some time this winter to try some things out. Right now, it's mostly used as FRS/walkie-talkie style communications.

My biggest thing is learning how to use repeaters correctly and learning their range in our area. I've looked at some of the websites, I think RadioReference, to see where some repeaters are. One of things I imagine, in my own real life, where this would come in handy is when I'm just over the pass and need to reach someone when my cell service is non-existent. Whether that's for help or to get an ETA from friends/family who might be on their way from the valley or wherever.