JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm just getting started with food storage and have read that mylar bags and oxygen absorbers are used for storing dry goods, would vacuum bagger be another viable option for long term storage? Also will 5 gal buckets from HD or Lowes work for storage of dry goods that have been bagged? Thank's

Any 5 gallon bucket with a 2(HDPE=High density Polyethylene) or a 5(PP=Polypropylene) rating in the triangle will work. Both Lowes and Home Depot 5 gallon buckets are food grade 2.
Since you cant always reseal your vac bags, I would package your dried food in smaller packages as opposed to 1 large bucket filling vac sealed bag full of rice or whatever.

Personally I would recommend that you go for a food storage that you rotate as the primary solution. Of course you could use this method that is often described and discussed among preppers and survivalists, but the if you have a large storage that you rotate oxygen absorbers and mylar bags won't be necessary.

The main problem as I see it is to get a pantry that's big enough to accommodate a long-term food storage and get it organized so that all the supplies are easily accessed so that you can get an good overview. Store what you eat and eat what you store. You should be storing what you plan to eat the next weeks and months. At this point you are extremely well prepared; it would take a crisis of unprecedented proportions before you would actually need such a large food storage.

If you build a food storage with a capacity over 6 months to 1 year than this could become an alternative for extending this storage using Mylar-bags and oxygen absorbers, or as an alternative look into the solutions with freeze dried canned food filled with nitrogen, such solutions are available from Mountain House and other companies.