JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
OK. So I have been reloading on and off for 30 years. Today I shot my first squib. It all turned out OK and I learned a lot from it so thought I should share the knowledge.

I was shooting my 6mmBR for the first time in 3 or so years. I realized that I wanted to work up a real load and had 19 rounds left from the last reload spree 3+ years ago so I decided to unload them the fun way.

On the 17th shot, I got a pop and no recoil and no hole in the paper. The pop was so quiet that I thought it might have been just the click of the firing pin doing *something* other than hitting the primer.

I counted to 30 and then undid the bolt and ejected the cartridge and there was no bullet there. No smoke either but the primer had a good solid direct hit and was expended.

I removed the bolt and looked from the breach down the barrel and there was no daylight so the bullet was there and the barrel was obstructed. I put the gun away to fix at home because I hadn't taken a cleaning rod to the range.

What I learned:

1. When you don't get recoil or smoke or noise, you need to wait a minute for a hangfire then remove the cartridge and check the barrel for obstructions.

2. Bolt actions are nice because there isn't another one up the spout without trying to get one there. I know that without the recoil a semi wouldn't load another, but just having another round ready to go while you are trying to determine what is going on was a little intimidating.

3. Don't leave old reloads around unless you know exactly what they are and they are marked.