JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Good evening all,

Let me start this by saying I'm a complete beginner when it comes to archery and elk. I've rifle hunted for a few years, but this is my first season archery hunting. Well, I didn't make it out opening day, but I did make it out for Sunday and Monday.

Here's what I saw:

Sunday: 1 cow elk, 1 herd of elk well after last light. Shined my light to see at least 13 elk looking back at me.

Monday: Started my morning to see a herd of 15-20 elk including at least 2 bulls about 200 yards from me, another small bull and his woman, a doe, and, believe it or not, a black bear! This guy was about 80 yards from me in the middle of the road! I went for my bow and he did a 180 and disappeared into the thicket. I guarantee you, I was more surprised than him.

I came away from this excursion unsuccessful.

Here's what I learned:

Archery is a whole new world as compared to rifle. One must get close without alerting the elk. I spooked off a whole herd into the "tearing down the forest panic." I tried sneaking up to the smaller bull, but he was long gone before I was even close. Sneaking up on a bull in dry coast weather seems impossible.

Id have been happy with a buck or bull, but obviously, I want that bull. I have no experience archery hunting, but I want to learn more. I walked for miles and I sat for hours. My problem, I think, was I did both at the wrong hours. I have no calls (though plan to buy some tomorrow), and again, have no experience.

Can any member here offer me advice or tips? I'd be most grateful. I figure this outing was blind luck for the level of activity I saw. I have unfilled tags as of now, but am looking to change that.