JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am relatively new to reloading compared to many here. I have successfully reloaded a few thousand rounds of .38 special, .45 ACP, and .357 Mag without incident.

I decided it was time to try some rifle reloading and since .450 Marlin is a straight walled case (except for the band), I thought it would be a good first rifle round to try. I made a mistake trimming the cases to 2 inches instead of 2.09". But I thought the brass would be usable in my Magnum Research BFR.

My problem came when I tried seating 405 grain lead flat nosed bullets. I am using new Hornady dies and a Lee Classic press. No matter what I did, I ran out of adjustment to seat the bullet. I could barely get it to the second lube line, never mind the cannalure. If I screwed the die in just a tad I crushed the brass, of course.

I pulled the die apart several times but all looks like the drawings in the die instructions.

I then bought some 300 grain bullets (again cast) thinking the shorter distance to the crimp line because of a shorter bullet would help. But the same shallow seating occurred. I get no resistance when I try to seat it. I made sure to put the brass in the shell holder, screw the die down until it hits, then back off one turn. I back the seater screw out all the way. Then insert a bullet, raise the ram, and -- very little happens.

I'm pretty sure I did something simple that was incorrect. I just can't figure it out. I need to be schooled. Anybody know what I am doing wrong? Thanks in advance.

I back the seater screw out all the way. Then insert a bullet, raise the ram, and -- very little happens
Theres the answer as to why it is not seating.