JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I have a question for all of you who are mechanically inclined. We have this car, an old PT Cruiser, that has a strange problem. it's really not worth spending much money on for parts or a mechanic.

It will start and run fine, for about 5 minutes until it warms up. Then it sputters and dies, and won't start again until it's completely cooled down.

It actually doesn't belong to me. Friends of ours are going to give it to my daughter if we can get it running right. I'm thinking a fuel problem, he thinks electrical. Any ideas for where to start troubleshooting?

I have no experience with PT cruisers but have wrenched on a bunch of my own vehicles over the years.
XJ jeeps get a similar problem known as "vapor lock"

Essentially the fuel in your fuel lines near the engine (before it gets sprayed through your injectors into the combustion chamber) gets heated by the ambient engine temperature.
Resulting in vaporized fuel inside the fuel lines, this causes the same symptoms your describing.
Its a cheap fix also, all you do is insulate the fuel lines with a high heat rated insulation which keeps the fuel cool until it gets used by your engine.

I had an F150 that had a similar problem. It was the Fuel pump control module, a little computer mounted on the frame rails. No idea if those have a similar system.

Other common / cheaper issues I would look into would be replacing the O2 sensors, and replacing the ignition coil. Sometimes when hot/ damaged / old the coils will not work properly.

I'd say injector issues. What's the mileage? Assuming proper typical maintenance like oil and such is taking place?

Could be 100 things! Completely dead after partial warm-up could easily be an ignition part having a break because of the heat. We ha ve an auto tech here. Can't think of his handle now.