JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I need some opinions and experience from everyone

My brother left me with his long distance .300WM while he has been deployed, and I have worked out a bullet and load that is working very well at 600-1000 yards. But, he is coming back in November and I will lose 'my' bench gun. So it means I need to build my own, I don't want to buy a completed rifle, from the action up.

I really like the 7mm (.284), but which one to choose?

I have some experience with the 7mm Mag (dad's gun) and my hunting gun is the 280, which I like both of them. For a bench gun I want more than the 280. But also know that there are some short magnum's, ultra magnums, and other assorted magnums which I don't have experience with. So, I'm hoping that people can give me their experience and why they would go with 7mm XXX versus the standard 7mm Magnum.

Thought?

I went with the 7mm STW a few years ago and have not looked back! It's a 8mm Remington mag necked down to 7mm. I have taken elk and deer with it out to 800 yards, all one shot kills.

I use to love my 7mm Rem mag until the STW came out. Now it is my go to round for hunting. Nothing wrong with the standard 7mm, but I just like the litle extra the STW has.