JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
To crimp, or not to crimp, that is the question.

I just started loading my own 223 tonight and it is intended for use with my semi-auto AR rifles. I have 100 rounds ready to go. I have not crimped any of them.

Is crimping my 223 really necessary?

I've been loading 224 Valkyrie and 308 for a few months now and have sent hundreds of these rounds down range successfully without any crimping. If it works for the 224 Valkyrie and 308 in semi-auto rifles, why wouldn't I achieve the same results with my non crimped 223?

What philosophy do you subscribe to and why?

A-IMG-1069.jpg

To crimp, or not to crimp, that is the question.

I just started loading my own 223 tonight and it is intended for use with my semi-auto AR rifles. I have 100 rounds ready to go. I have not crimped any of them.

Is crimping my 223 really necessary?

I've been loading 224 Valkyrie and 308 for a few months now and have sent hundreds of these rounds down range successfully without any crimping. If it works for the 224 Valkyrie and 308 in semi-auto rifles, why wouldn't I achieve the same results with my non crimped 223?

What philosophy do you subscribe to and why?

View attachment 574693
I haven't crimped a bottleneck case that goes in a box or rotary mag for years now......used to , waste of time for me.
I didn't see any gains that wanted to keep me doing it.

I never crimped loads for my bolt action .223 rifles, but the violent feeding of the semiautomatic AR-15 and the potential problems created by bullet setback led me to using a Lee factory crimp die to lightly crimp my AR loads. The loads still are sufficiently accurate for my purposes and it gives me piece of mind. I figure they put the cannelure on those bullets for a reason.

Should you...

Yeah.

Do most people... no