JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
What's the difference? I have a vortex sparc and like it but I need a second sight for another AR. I do have a slight astigmatism and the dot on my sparc is kind of starry but it doesn't bother me much. Reason I'm curious about the difference though is I have a chance yo get an eotech 512 for around $230ish or a exps2.0 for just under or right around $300ish. Or maybe it's just the xps2.0...not sure but either way I'm just wondering if the eotech are worth it or do most think they are over rated? Are they that much different than the vortex sparc? I know the dot has the ghost ring thing around it but what else is different. Exuse my ignorance on the subject, I'm kind of new to the world of red dots and such. Also palmeto has the sparc with 10pmags included so that's pretty sweet.

The holographic weapon sight (HWS) in my opinion is much crisper optically than a red dot sight. The HWS also have a much finer dot (1 MOA center dot) which I like. Most of the red dots are at least 2 MOA and larger with the majority of them being 3 MOA or larger reticles. Also you don't get the blurry/ghosting/starry effect with the HWS.:s0159:

I have a Vortex Strikefire and noticed the dot is "starry", but I thought it was just me. I don't know that is enough of a problem to warrant changing sights, but it would be nice if it was a clear dot. My Strikefire can change to a green dot. I didn't use it enough to notice if it was starry when green, but I did notice it was harder to see the green dot on my target (white with red 2" dot) than the red one.