Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Question about Oregon/Washington sales tax on a carbine

Discussion in 'General Firearm Discussion' started by Fordcragar, Jul 2, 2016.

1. Fordcragar

Fordcragar Renton, Washington Active Member

I'm a resident of Washington and have been thinking about buying a used carbine, either in Washington or Oregon. At least I think that I will be able to buy one in Oregon, if I'm not a resident, let me know if this isn't true.

Anyway, buying a used carbine from a private party, during the transfer is a sales tax collected in the State of Washington at the FFL? I would imagine if you were to buy it from a LGS they would charge you the tax. Then if I were to buy a carbine from a private party in Oregon, can it be transferred to me in Oregon at a FFL, if I am not a resident?

2. The Nothing

The Nothing PDX Bronze Supporter Bronze Supporter 2016 Volunteer

No sales tax in Oregon (except pot)
    And, yes you could buy here

206thsense, Stomper and Sgt Nambu like this.
  3. drstrangelove

drstrangelove Vancouver, WA Active Member

As long as the private seller gives a copy of their drivers license to the WA FFL, no sales tax is collected because there was never a transfer of ownership to the FFL's books; it was directly transferred to you, and the DL proves to the state the source of the gun, and it's tax exempt status.

4. Stomper

Stomper Oceania Rising White Is The New Brown Silver Supporter

The only FFL transfer you'd need on an out of state purchase to an FFL in your home state is a purchase is on handguns.

Brutus57 likes this.
  5. Fordcragar

I knew that hand guns would be a different procedure, where I couldn't buy one out of state unless it transferred to a FFL in my state. Then I would be on the hook for sales tax too.

6. Brutus57

Brutus57 Skagit County Well-Known Member

Yes you would, did that a number of moths ago.

Brutus Out

7. Stomper