Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

question about concealed carry in oregon

Discussion in 'Legal & Political Archive' started by Mobius, Apr 18, 2009.

  1. Mobius

    Mobius Beaverton OR Active Member

    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    27
    So I'm getting all my ducks in a row to get my CHL in Oregon (Washington county) and I'm wondering about some things before I do this.

    I know that the law says if you are convicted of a felony in the past 4 years you are automatically denied but does this go for misdemeanors?

    I ask because about 3 years ago I got pulled over on my motorcycle and was ticketed for Driving while suspended (long story don't ask.) I went to court and explained to the judge I wasn't aware it was suspended and he informed me its my responsibility to be aware of these things and wouldn't even reduce the ticket. (this is considered a misdemeanor is it not?)

    So will this bar me from being able to get my CHL? I had some other traffic issues when I was younger as well but that's been a long time past and never anything of a serious nature.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. rayd8

    rayd8 Formerly Portland, now Alabama! Member

    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    24
    Felony is no go period. The 4 year period is for misdemeanors....

    Can't speak to your particular situation regarding a misdemeanor or not.
     
  3. Stomper

    Stomper Oceania Rising White Is The New Brown Silver Supporter

    Messages:
    12,912
    Likes Received:
    19,573
    Forum member "rallysoob" had the same angst as you for "traffic issues"... do some research on the interweb to see if DWS is a misdemeanor "crime", or in this case was a "traffic infraction"... as far as I can tell if it IS a misdemeanor crime, you'll have to wait for another year until FOUR years has passed. ;)

    Here is the result of a a quick Google search by typing: "driving while suspended in oregon, crime or infraction?"



    Driving while Suspended
    Infraction 811.175 (1) (a) Driving while suspended.

    Misdemeanor 811.182. Driving when suspended for recklessly endangering another, menacing or criminal mischief while driving; suspended for perjury or making false affidavit; suspended for refusing to take a breath test or blowing higher than .08%; suspended for being an habitual offender; being suspended for a crime punishable as felony, hit and run, reckless driving, attempting to elude, DUII.

    Felony. If suspension resulted from conviction for Murder, Manslaughter, Criminal Negligent Homicide or Assault with an automobile.

    Often a felony can be reduced to a misdemeanor or a misdemeanor can reduced to an infraction. Because of the seriousness of a conviction on your driving record, and the inconvenience of have your licence suspended again, you should consult with an attorney before simply pleading guilty or no contest.



    Hope that helps!!!
     
  4. RallySoob

    RallySoob Salem, OR Active Member

    Messages:
    1,041
    Likes Received:
    26
    I had just received my CHL about 2 weeks ago and I have the worst driving record I know of, you should be good... I have had 2 dws in the last 3 yrs. Not proud of it, but relevant. Your ability to protect yourself should not be hindered by your driving record imo and I guess the sheriffs dep felt the same way. good luck