JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hey guys, I just saw the ad for Big 5 this Sunday and noticed they have a Mosin Nagant 91/30 for $99... I have no experience with these guns but am looking for something to just have some fun with and heard these are really cool rifles. Would this just end up being crap from Big 5 or would it be worth it to pick one up?? Any feedback would be much appreciated!

The MOSIN-NAGANT rifles from BIG 5 have ALWAYS been GREAT pieces in my experience. I have NEVER seen a bad one from there ( having examined, and purchased several from BIG 5 over the years)

99 bucks is a GREAT price too.

At that price, buy two or three of them!

They are great fun rifles, and neat pieces of History as well.

It would be worth it, there fun rifles to shoot and surplus ammo is cheap (also corrosive though) but be sure to check the rifle over thoroughly before you pay for it. Check the bore and make sure it doesn't look like someone took a dump down it, check the stock for cracks and the receiver for cracks and wear. In my experience it's totally up to the customer to know what to look for when buying a firearm from big 5, most people working at the one I go to here in Seattle have no firearms knowledge whatsoever. Either that or just wait for one to come up for sale on the board.

I bought one online for $80, after shipping, taxes, and dealer fees it ended up being over $120. Then I saw a Mosin-Nagant at my local ACE Hardware store for $99.

BUY IT. Then buy the ammo in bulk at like JG Sales, AIM Surplus, or Ammo-To-Go. This rifle is accurate as heck and built for the rifleman in mind. I just can't (for the life of me) see some 1940's Russin clearing houses with one of these things! They're huge!