1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!
  2. We're giving away over $1,000 in prizes this month in the Northwest Firearms Winter Giveaway!
    Dismiss Notice

List of questions from the newbie...

Discussion in 'General Firearm Discussion' started by Baldnblk, Jul 27, 2013.

  1. Baldnblk

    Baldnblk Tillamook,Oregon New Member

    Likes Received:
    What are the Open carry rules here in Tillamook? I been open carrying all day and not sure if its the firearm or my skin tone...LOL

    2. Carrying in a vehicle, loaded,unloaded on my person, must be in glovebox I've gotta different answer from coworkers and friends but none of them carry they are all a bunch of tree huggers so help. please.

    3. my Nevada CCW isnt good here so i was told to take my DD-214 to sherriff dept, but then was told it had to specifically say pistols. obvious only tankers and officers carried pistols atleast back when i was in. so my sharpshooter qual is no good?

    4. what's this I'm reading about Me having to give a reason why i need/want a conceal permit to sheriff in order to get one? Seriously?
    my apologies if i posted in wrong forum.
  2. deadeye

    deadeye Albany,OR. Moderator Staff Member

    Likes Received:
  3. slimer13

    slimer13 Deer Park Well-Known Member

    Likes Received:
    Start reading

    firearms - OregonLaws.org Search

    My understanding (as a WA resident) is OR does not restrict OC, but local ordinances may (PDX) require a CPL for OC.
  4. drew

    drew OR Well-Known Member

    Likes Received:
    I don't think Tillamook has any local ordinances. So open carry is legal. Avoid public buildings which restrict to CHL holders. Private establishments can do as they choose but can only ask you to leave.

    2. Don't keep a handgun in the glovebox. If you are in a car, the trunk or in plain sight (including a belt holster) are your best options. An unlocked glovebox is considered concealed.

    3. The sheriff's office could refuse it. Ask them.

    4. If you're an OR resident, you don't need to provide a reason. It's may issue for non-residents so they can ask for reasons.

    If you want I (or someone else) can point out the specific laws in ORS 166. I'm on my phone right now or I would quote some statutes.
    Baldnblk and (deleted member) like this.
  5. Baldnblk

    Baldnblk Tillamook,Oregon New Member

    Likes Received:
    Thanx for info guy. Helps a lot.
  6. GuyBMeredith

    GuyBMeredith Salem, Oregon Active Member

    Likes Received:
    Drew has it pretty much covered. Just need to prove residence, fingerprint, "training" and do background check.

    Some counties drag their feet by setting interview dates for fingerprinting and all weeks or so away, but state law requires delivery of CHL in 45 days once the paperwork is in.

    Any form of concealment (glovebox) requires CHL. Open loaded carry is okay on person or in car. Some cities have more specific laws, but the CHL gives you a pass.

    Oregon is "shall issue"--the Sheriff is required to issue if you meet the requirements for training and background and have your paperwork in.